Thursday, 17 July 2014

By-election Preview: 17 July 2014

Cornwall council
Caused by the resignation of UKIP councillor Michael Keogh for personal reasons.

The Norway Inn, Perranarworthal
This division of Cornwall can be found wrapped around the western side of Penryn.  It is named after its three constituent parishes, with Mabe (a granite quarrying centre) at the southern end, St Gluvias (a suburb of Penryn) in the middle and Perranarworthal at the north end.  The name of Perranarworthal commemorates St Piran, the patron saint of Cornwall; and the village became the location of the eighteenth-century Perran iron foundry, now being redeveloped into homes.  One of the managers of the foundry built a mansion called Tullimaar House, where Eisenhower stayed for two weeks while organising the D-Day landings; appropriately, the house was later occupied by a naval rating at D-Day, the Nobel Prize-winning novelist Sir William Golding.  Golding died here in 1993, and his family still live in the mansion.

This ward has the same boundaries as the ward which was more simply called "Mabe" used at the inaugural Cornwall council election in 2009.  Both the previous elections on these boundaries have been very fragmented with the winner receiving around 30% of the vote; the Tories beat off the Lib Dems by 80 votes in 2009 but lost out to UKIP in 2013 by just three votes.  Before 2009 the area covered by this ward was in two local government districts; Perranarworthal was part of the old Carrick district and in a ward which generally returned Tories, while the other two parishes formed part of an independent-held ward on Kerrier district council.

Defending for UKIP is Pete Tisdale, a Mabe parish councillor.  The Tories are standing Peter Williams, a builder from Perranarworthal.  The Lib Dem candidate is John Ault, from Penryn, who fought the ward in 2013; a university lecturer, former Cornwall county councillor and former chairman of the Electoral Reform Society, Ault has represented the Lib Dems on Top Gear and Exeter University on University Challenge.  Labour have selected Linda Hitchcox, from the village of Mawnan Smith to the south, and the Mebyon Kernow candidate is Karen Sumser-Lupson who, despite living in Cornwall, is chairman of the African Maritime Safety and Security Agency.

Parliamentary constituency: Camborne and Redruth (part: Mabe and St Gluvias parishes); Truro and Falmouth (part: Perranarworthal parish)
ONS Travel to Work Area: Falmouth and Heston (part: Mabe and St Gluvias parishes); Truro, Redruth and Camborne (part: Perranarworthal parish)

John Ault (LD)
Linda Hitchcox (Lab)
Karen Sumser-Lupson (MK)
Pete Tisdale (UKIP)
Peter Williams (C)

May 2013 result UKIP 413 C 410 LD 331 Ind 160 Lab 129
June 2009 result C 533 LD 453 Ind 212 Ind 181 Ind 162 MK 140 Lab 99

No comments:

Post a Comment